OISEAUX
REAL AND IMAGINARY CHROMATIC INVENTORY

B42-150
publication May 2021
language Afterword in French
designer deValence
size 160 x 210mm
pages 224 p.
ISBN 9782490077502
subject illustration, art

This book is accompanied by an unpublished text in French written by the philosopher Emanuele Coccia.

Oiseaux is an aviary of 200 drawings made by Jochen Gerner between February 2019 and September 2020. Each of these birds was drawn with pigmented Indian ink felt pens on small-format school notebooks from China and India, on which lines and squares of different sizes appear.

This series of drawings constitutes a graphic experiment aimed at exploring the potential of the grid, the superimposition of lines and the association of a reduced number of colours in the creation of feathers. By mixing dreamed and real birds, this inventory questions the links between the imaginary and reality in our daily lives, and teaches us that the fantastic is often to be found in the reality of everyday life.

In this graphic research, Jochen Gerner was inspired by the work of eighteenth-century illustrators such as François-Nicolas Martinet, who used to depict birds in profile, thus giving them a noble and stiff character, contrasting with the strength and brightness of the colours.

This series of drawings is accompanied by a text in french written by the philosopher Emanuele Coccia, who places Jochen Gerner’s practice within the history of comics, and proposes a philosophical interpretation of what birds can contribute to our reflection on the world.

Voir aussi

OISEAUX
INVENTAIRE CHROMATIQUE RÉEL ET IMAGINAIRE

B42-150
parution mai 2021
langue français
designer deValence
format 160 x 210mm
pages 224 p.
ISBN 9782490077502
thèmes illustration, art

L’ouvrage est accompagné d’une postface inédite écrite par le philosophe Emanuele Coccia.

Disponible en précommande, en librairie à partir du 14 mai.

Oiseaux est une volière réunissant près de 200 dessins réalisés par Jochen Gerner entre février 2019 et septembre 2020. Chacun de ces oiseaux a été dessiné au feutre à encre de Chine pigmentée sur des cahiers d’écoliers petit format, originaires de Chine et d’Inde, sur lesquels apparaissent des lignes et carreaux de différentes tailles.

Cette série de dessins constitue une expérimentation graphique visant à explorer les potentialités de la trame, la superposition des traits, et l’association d’un nombre réduit de couleurs dans la création des plumages. En mêlant oiseaux rêvés et réels, cet inventaire interroge les liens entre imaginaire et réalité dans notre vie quotidienne, et nous enseigne que le fantastique se niche le plus souvent dans la réalité du quotidien.

Dans le cadre de cette recherche graphique, Jochen Gerner s’est inspiré du travail de certains illustrateurs du XVIIIe siècle comme celui de François-Nicolas Martinet, qui avait pour habitude de représenter les oiseaux de profil, leur afférant ainsi un caractère noble et raide, contrastant avec la force et l’aspect lumineux des couleurs.

Voir aussi