BACK OFFICE #3
GRAPHIC DESIGN AND DIGITAL PRACTICES

B42-112
publication September 2019
language English, French
designer E + K – Élise Gay & Kévin Donnot
size 195 x 280mm
pages 144 p.
ISBN 9782490077120
themes graphic design, typography

Co-published with Fork Éditions
Published with the support of Cnap – Centre national des arts plastiques.

Follow Back Office on Twitter

This third issue of Back Office #3 is devoted to various experiences of reading on screens. Over the course of the last decades, this change has introduced deep shifts whose effects are still being assessed. Following the possible end of linear writing, predicted by the “communicologist” Vilém Flusser as early as the 1970s, the philosopher Jacques Derrida reflected on the “end of paper” as the primary medium for inscription. The proliferation of screens and the dawn of the internet paved the way for expression forms falling under the category of an enlarged “graphosphere”, presumably still dominated by the norms and figures of paper (ligns, the sheet, the page, paragraphs, margins, etc.). Could the task of the designer be to accompany, as smoothly as possible, this transition from one technical era to the next, or could it be, on the contrary, to postpone the passage from paper to screen?

Back Office is an annual review, encompassing graphic design and digital activities. It explores the creative processes at work in the diverse fields of contemporary media and digital practices. By dealing with themes such as the code/form relation, the challenges of creative tools, and the permeable nature of media, it represents a unique French-speaking think tank, and a worldwide vehicle of visibility for the French-speaking community.

CONTENTS

From A to screen: the Migration of Letters
Johanna Drucker

What is a letter? In this article, one of the very few writings by Johanna Drucker to be available in French, the author examines the history of the alphabet and letter-drawing techniques, from Mesopotamia to the technical layers needed to display Web pages.

Off the Page
Dan Rubin

By its mere presence in our vocabulary, the page has conditioned our entire approach to design, layout, browsing, interactions, communication protocols, width, height, above the fold, advertising, and typography. Similarly to books, the internet has evolved according to our perception of its shape. Understanding history and the meaning of the concept of the page could help the internet evolve.

Ten Years in 640 x 480
Étienne Mineur

Etienne Mineur is a designer, publisher and teacher. His career began in the early 1990s designing cultural CD-ROMs. In 2000, he co-founded Incandescence studio, which specialized in interaction design. In 2009, he launched Volumiques, a publishing company producing interactive games and narrative texts.

Leaving Paper Behind
Vilém Flusser

Alphanumerical and iconic information are in the process of coming detached from all material media (especially paper) to fly towards the electromagnetic field. The consequences of this emergence are still unpredictable. This paper will consider only the conceivable consequences that the electromagnetization of texts will have on the writer’s creativity.

The Paradox of the Swallow
Yves Citton

In order to better understand the significance of the challenges that Villèm Flusser explored in his 1987 article, “XXX”, over 30 years later Back Office asked the researcher Yves Citton (a Literature & Media Professor at Paris 8 Vincennes-Saint Denis University) to analyze the electronic mutations of communication media.

Electronic Books and Digital Illusions
Lucile Haute

It is very likely that what is commonly referred to – often without being defined – as an “electronic book” is no longer a book but a hypermedia. What happens to the sensory experience of reading when it is transferred to digital or unconventional media? What disappears and what is created during the translation from one sensory mode to another, from paper to screen, from screen to paper?

Tactile Readings: Eighteen Remarkable Applications
Nicolas Tilly

Nicolas Tilly presents a selection of applications which goes back over a decade of reading on tactile screens.

Reading Keys
Chloé Delaume

My name is Adelaïde Blanchard. I am 37. I am a Lacanian by training, but I am what is commonly referred to as a bibliotherapist. I treat people with books – or with reading at any rate. I prescribe reading. Soothing passages from publications, reassuring pages from novels. Tranquilizing stanza, energizing verse. Aesthetic experience and neuronal circuits.

Absorbing Text: Rereading Speed Reading
Nathan Jones, Sam Skinner

Speed reading applications single out individual words from a text’s body and display them sequentially, most often underlining the middle letter. This article examines how this new temporal textual form could usher in a revival of the technical and material basics of reading, and how it could offer alternative ways to reflect on our relationship to texts.

From Page Design to the Pedagogy of Flow: the Belgian Case
Alexia de Vischer

Teaching design on screens started when the first graphic user interfaces appeared. While a handful of designers used them as research spaces, most of them invested the field of digitally assisted design. The internet’s open and standardized technologies partly allowed these two worlds to meet.

Voir aussi

BACK OFFICE #3
DESIGN GRAPHIQUE ET PRATIQUES NUMÉRIQUES

B42-112
parution septembre 2019
langue anglais, français
designer E + K – Élise Gay & Kévin Donnot
format 195 x 280mm
pages 144 p.
ISBN 9782490077120
thèmes design graphique, typographie

Sous la direction de Kévin Donnot, Élise Gay et Anthony Masure.
Coédition Fork Éditions.
Publié avec le soutien du Cnap – Centre national des arts plastiques.

Suivez Back Office sur Twitter

Back Office est une revue annuelle entre design graphique et pratiques numériques. Elle explore les processus de création en jeu dans la diversité des médias et des pratiques numériques contemporaines. En traitant de thématiques telles que le rapport entre code et forme, les enjeux des outils de création ou la perméabilité des médias, elle constitue un espace de réflexion unique en langue française et un vecteur de visibilité à l’international pour la communauté francophone.

Ce troisième numéro revient sur des expériences de lectures à l’écran. Depuis plusieurs dizaines d’années déjà, ces mutations engagent de profonds bouleversements dont nous n’avons pas fini de prendre la mesure. À la suite d’une possible fin de l’écriture linéaire annoncée par le «communicologue» Vilém Flusser dès les années 1970, le philosophe Jacques Derrida réfléchit dans les années 1990 au «retrait du papier» en tant que support d’inscription primaire. La multiplication des écrans et les débuts du Web ouvrent la voie à des formes d’expression relevant d’une «graphosphère» élargie, que les normes et les figures du papier (la ligne, la feuille, la page, le paragraphe, les marges, etc.) continuent peut-être de dominer. La tâche des designers serait-elle d’accompagner sans heurts ce passage d’époques techniques ou plutôt de différer le passage du papier de l’écran ?

SOMMAIRE

De la lettre à l’écran — La migration des caractères
Johanna Drucker

Qu’est-ce qu’une lettre ? Dans cet article, un des rares disponibles en français de Johanna Drucker, cette dernière explore l’histoire de l’alphabet et des techniques de dessin des lettres, depuis la Mésopotamie jusqu’aux couches techniques nécessaires à l’affichage des pages Web, et montre ainsi comment « chaque technologie offre ses propres possibilités de forme ».

Tourner la page
Dan Rubin

Rien que par son existence dans notre lexique, la page a conditionné notre approche entière du design, de la mise en page, de la navigation, des interactions, des protocoles de communication, de la chasse, de la hauteur, et des lignes de flottaison, de la publicité et de la typographie. Comme pour le livre, le Web a évolué en fonction de notre perception de sa forme. Comprendre l’histoire et le sens de la notion de page pourrait permettre de faire évoluer le Web.

10 ans en 640 x 480
Étienne Mineur

Étienne Mineur est designer, éditeur et enseignant. Il commence sa carrière au début des années 1990 dans le domaine du CD-ROM culturel. En 2000, il cofonde le studio Incandescence, spécialisé dans le design d’interaction. En 2009, il est à l’initiative des éditions Volumiques, qui produit des jeux et textes narratifs interactifs.

Décoller du papier
Vilém Flusser

Les informations alphanumériques et iconiques sont en train de décoller de tout support matériel (surtout du papier), pour s’envoler dans le champ électromagnétique. Les conséquences d’une telle émergence sont encore imprévisibles. La communication présente ne considérera que les conséquences envisageables que l’électromagnétisation des textes aura sur la créativité de l’écrivain.

Le paradoxe de l'hirondelle
Yves Citton

Pour mieux saisir l’importance des enjeux développés par Vilém Flusser dans l’article « Décoller du papier » de 1987, Back Office a proposé au chercheur Yves Citton (actuellement Professeur des universités à Paris 8 Vincennes Saint-Denis en littérature et médias) d’analyser, à plus de quarante ans d’écart, les mutations électroniques des médias de communication.

Livres mécaniques et chimères numériques
Lucile Haute

Il est probable que ce que l’on nomme — sans le définir toujours — « livre numérique » n’est déjà plus un livre mais un hypermédia. Que devient alors l’expérience sensorielle de lecture lorsqu’elle bascule sur des supports numériques ou non conventionnels ? Qu’est-ce qui échappe, qu’est-ce qui se crée lors de la traduction d’un mode sensible à un autre, du papier à l’écran, de l’écran au papier ?

Lecture tactile : dix-huit applications remarquables
Nicolas Tilly

Nicolas Tilly présente une sélection d'applications qui retrace dix ans de lecture sur écran tactile.

Grilles de lecture
Chloé Delaume

Je m’appelle Adelaïde Blanchard. J’ai trente-sept ans. J’ai une formation lacanienne, mais je suis ce qu’on appelle une bibliothérapeute. Je soigne par les livres, enfin, par la lecture. Je prescris des lectures. Des extraits d’ouvrages qui soulagent, des pages de romans qui rassurent. Des strophes qui tranquillisent, des vers qui dynamisent. Expérience esthétique et circuit neuronal.

Absorber le texte : relire la lecture rapide
Nathan Jones, Sam Skinner

Les applications de lecture rapide (speed reading) isolent des mots individuels du corps des textes et les affichent de manière séquentielle, le plus souvent en surlignant la lettre du milieu. Cet article examine comment cette nouvelle forme temporelle de texte pourrait inaugurer un retour aux fondamentaux techniques et matériels de la lecture, et en quoi elle pourrait offrir des moyens alternatifs de penser notre relation aux textes.

Du design de la page à la pédagogie du flux: le cas belge
Alexia de Vischer

L’enseignement du design à l’écran est apparu dès que les premières interfaces graphiques utilisateur ont fait leur apparition. Tandis qu’une poignée de designers s’en est emparé comme un espace de recherche, la plupart ont investi l’espace de la simulation et du design numériquement assistés. Les technologies ouvertes et standardisées du Web ont en partie permis à ces deux mondes de se rencontrer.

Voir aussi